How I went from the city girl (kind of) to country girl (kind of)


I have spent most my life in and around Madison, WI.

Now that I have that confession off my chest, lets proceed, I have family that used to have a farm in New Holstein WI, and I spent nearly every summer there, not for a punishment but to give my dad a break from me, I think ?? ok I hope?? ok maybe not, ok going on.

Ok I liked going to the farm, I didn’t like the letter writing I had to do either, we didn’t have the computers when I was a kid, if we had I may have been better about that. But I spent my day’s swimming in the creek, running in fields with the cows, yes cleaning my feet from the leftovers from the cows as well.

I learned to bake, and cook, and cook some more, and talk about eating, oh man I tell you the spreads that they used to have on the table for lunch, beef & pork roast, vegetables, gravy and LOTS of caloric intake, funny I would lose weight, be “brown as a berry” that never made sense to me cause if a berry is brown hasn’t it gone bad?? ok I am off the track again.

Believe it or not I would show up at the farm a chunky girl and when I went home I would weigh more but be thinner, by evidenced by my being able to wear clothes that would be too tight in a few weeks after my return.

We bale hay, did lots of work, I learned to milk the cows, and even drive a little when my great Aunts couldn’t see my Uncle John let me in the seat for my lessons, oh those were the days.

Days of no bills, not worrying about the things us grown-ups are told are important for us to do.

I worked in the city, lived in the city, and really did like the city for many years, I lived in the cities suburbs for years, preferring the quite that escapes those in the city on a nightly basis.

Years pass, I do the normal, ok normal for me, have a couple of kids, have a couple of marriages, basically live, survive.

In the time that passes I find my current and final husband, who just happens to be my best friend, for those of you that ask if a friend really could be your spouse, yes, it has been great.

When we got together he had another love, it came around every year and it involved some pretty does, and I am being very literal here, does as in the 4 legged kind, furry, venison.

I never planned to be a hunter, nor a hunters wife, but it seems that my family history seems to have served me well, I can cape a deer, as well as 1/4 it and butcher like I was trained, which I never was formally. I think it was in my blood, since my Grandfather was a butcher by trade.

Now I not only am the family butcher, I am also a “huntress” yup I hunt now too, at times I miss the quite time when I was left alone at home to cook dinner, clean, and all that kind of stuff, and I was warm in the house, now I freeze with the men to have a chance to see a deer let alone have one come close enough to get a shot off.

Oh I should also explain I don’t hunt with a gun, I hunt with a bow, that means those deer need to be closer to be able to shoot one, and so far they havent gotten that close to me, everyone else in my household has at least one deer to their belt, but supposedly this is my year.

I hope so, it would be nice I could for once butcher my own deer this year, I have seen pictures of some of the deer that hunters have seen or killed this year, none from our household, but from shows I watch, as well as news reports and my Facebook friends.

Personally I am not greedy I don’t care what it is doe, buck, yearling, anything that comes within my 25 yd shooting distance and I can get a clean and ethical shot, it will be mine…. I hope, and pray, and hope some more and pray a whole lot more.

Anyone who has better tips for me for hunting or keeping warm while hunting I am ready willing and able to try almost anything.

4 comments
  1. So glad you linked to me and I hope we have a chance to get to know each other better. It sounds like we have a decent amount in common but with all the hunting talk, I think you should meet my blogging friend Val in ND. This blog post http://wagfarms.com/2011/11/07/hunt-my-meat-monday/ makes me think you would get some topics of interest. And I remember a post about her coveralls as being the best things in the world.

Leave a Reply

